A high qality picture image of the flag of Australia

Flag of Australia

The Australian flag was officially adopted in 1954 as the national flag.  It was chosen in 1901 from entries in a worldwide competition to head the federation.  The specifications of the flag were changed several times but the current specification were published in 1934.   The flag has a blue field with the union flag in the canton.  A large white seven pointed star on the lower quarter is known as the Commonwealth star.  On the Fly there is a representation of the constellation of the Southern Cross made up of five white stars, one small five pointed star and four larger seven pointed stars.  The Union flag represents Australia’s history as six British colonies, the commonwealth star represents the six federation colonies and the territory of Papua.  The Southern Cross represents 4 virtues of justice, prudence, temperance and fortitude.